2014 EVENTS:
Holly Bourne, Non Pratt and James Dawson - 30th October
Becca Fitzpatrick - 15th November

Monday, 19 May 2014

REVIEW: The Jewel - Amy Ewing

Monday, 19 May 2014
PAGES: 368
PUBLISHER: Walker Books
FORMAT: Paperback
BUY IT: Waterstones
RATING: 4 Stars

This book will be published September 2014.

Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity - until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other's jeopardy - and salvation. It will appeal to fans of dystopian, dark romance, stepping beyond the paranormal craze. It is perfect for fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games

"The Selection meets The Handmaid's Tale in this darkly riveting debut filled with twists and turns, where all that glitters may not be gold"

That tag line alone would entice me to read this book, and having read it now I agree with the comparisons to The Selection and The Handmaid's Tale, I'd also say it has shades of Megan McCafferty's Bumped in there too.

Violet is a wonderful character and I loved seeing the Jewel through her eyes as she tries to adjust to this new world into which she is forced. Amy Ewing has created a world in which girls like Violet have no choice in their future, they will become surrogates for the Royalty and the way in which this is described is brilliant - it felt scarily believable. 

The main plot is interesting, and lots of sub-plots add further intrigue! The last few chapters really ramped up the pace and the cliffhanger ending left me wanting to move straight onto book two! The only problem with reading proofs is that it's always so long before the next book comes out! I will definitely be reading the next instalment.

1 comment:

  1. Great review :) That sounds like a really interesting book! Can't believe I have to wait until September!


Content © YA Birmingham. All rights reserved.
Template by Color It YOU. Powered by Blogger.